Hello, introducing myself to you all

Welcome to our forum. This is the place to introduce yourself, if you wish.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

gelflin

Hello, introducing myself to you all

Post by gelflin »

Okay I am not very good at introducing myself, being the kind of anti social person that prefers to stay home and stitch or read rather than attend social gatherings but I will give it a go…

I first started cross stitching when I was about ten or eleven years old, influenced by my Nan who I lived with. She could do anything when it came to crafts from making Christmas cards through to reupholstering, and still found time to make her own brand of hand made cuddly toys that she sold to Harrods. As I got older I had little spare time to indulge in hobbies and my cross stitching faded away into non existence.

Two years ago my world came crashing down when I was diagnosed with M.E. at first although feeling constantly ill and tired I was still able to continue with most of my hobbies (Sugarcraft and Miniature ‘War games’ painting) at a competition level. Sadly my M.E. quickly deteriorated and I now suffer with Severe M.E. as well as Fibromyalgia, Posturally Orthostatic Tachycardia and many other associated illnesses caused by the cell death and immune dysfunction so apparent in late stage M.E. After a few months of utter boredom and frustration at daytime T.V. and the lack of busy hands and mind I picked up one of my old cross stitches. Now cross stitching is helping me to stay sane in the midst of a completely soul destroying illness. I still have to take it easy, too much stitching tires me and causes swelling and pain in my hands, but so long as I listen to my body and stop when it tells me too I am happily a new found stitcher.

Family: