Anchor to DMC conversion que?

For all topics which do not fit in the other categories.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

Fizzbw

Anchor to DMC conversion que?

Post by Fizzbw »

HIya,

I'm sorting out a new project for the future (but not too far!) its the Regency summer ball which was published in 3 consequent mags in 2006. It's done in Anchor however, and I don't like Anchor threads much - so I'd prefer to do it in DMC.

So how different DOES it look from the test one in the mag?? I don't want to spoil a big project like this, but again I want to enjoy stitching it!! If its going to be a lot different I can do it in Anchor, but as I have a decent stash of DMC it would be cheaper to do it with DMC.

Sorry for the ramble, I've never done any conversion stuff before!

Has anyone else tried this one? I'm a massive Heyer fan so this is a dream for me!

Cheers

Niki xxx
Needle minders and grime guards etc https://www.facebook.com/CirrusCreations" target="_blank" target="_blank

WIP: Last Look HAED
Kauto Star by Skitzzzz
Coming Home SQ
Time and season sampler
cHristamas village
koko

Re: Anchor to DMC conversion que?

Post by koko »

I can't ever see a difference between the main brands of floss (DMC, Anchor, J&P Coates). I think it will be fine with either type. The only time I see a difference is if you substitute DMC or Anchor for a specialty brand like Weeks or Gentle Art - that will change the finished product a lot!
Kim

2011 Projects:

Current:
Floral Hand-Towels
Various Christmas Cards / Presents

Long-Term WIP's:
Chatelaine Hummingbird Mandala
Dunnotar Castle - 23,718 of 60,368 stitches
Rose

Post by Rose »

I have found that the two main brands are very close. Anchor may be just a touch subdued with some of its colors but not a giant difference. It should look very close to the mag design model.
If you are looking for some one to help change you, look in the mirror
Squirrel

Post by Squirrel »