Do your hands hurt

For all topics which do not fit in the other categories.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

Jill

Do your hands hurt

Post by Jill »

Hi all I am new to this forum. I've been doing cross stitching for two years now since my friend introduced me to it and I am hooked, I just can't put it down. I do big projects but mainly now do small squares which I make into cards and I am now planning to send some off to charity as they keep mounting up.

Does anyone find their hands hurt after cross stitching for a while? How do you remedy this?
welsh wendy

do your hands hurt

Post by welsh wendy »

Hi Jill :D

Welcome to this great forum. :lol:

I spend a lot of time xstitching due to a disability that stops me doing much of anything else. I get pain in my wrist more but sometimes my hands as well. You could remedy this by buying a glove especially for crafts but I find these expensive. I just get a tubeigrip making sure that when folded it comes up to your first knuckle cut a whole in it for your thumb and then folding it over to give extra protection.

Hope this makes sense. Happy stitching :wink:
StitchingAgain

Post by StitchingAgain »

I don't get pain in my hands, but in my neck and shoulder... and thet's were my partner steps in *hugs partner*! lol! Nothing better than a shoulder and neck massage with lots of TigerBalm!
Serinde

Post by Serinde »

Your hand gets sore because it's tensed in the same position all the time.

Try clenching you fist really hard and then opening your hand fast -- like you were startled. Then move your fingers as if playing the piano, rotate your thumb. Generally get the hand moving. I find this helps a lot.
Last edited by Serinde on Sat Mar 18, 2006 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
catkin

Post by catkin »