Best sewing machine?

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

bookknurd

Best sewing machine?

Post by bookknurd »

I am considering purchasing a sewing machine (or asking for one for my birthday that's coming up). I would like a machine that's good for quilting and general projects, really just something that is very versatile.

I know we have some sewers on the boards, so I was wondering which sewing machine brand and/or model you use or recommend. I am a beginner sewer but I'm not afraid of a slightly more complicated machine if it means it will be more useful in the long run.

I would like a truly high quality machine, not necessarily the one with the most bells and whistles.

Don't worry about price, I just want to hear any suggestions you have.

Thanks!
**Signature Under Construction**
(will update soon with current WIPs and other info :dance: )
bookknurd

Re: Best sewing machine?

Post by bookknurd »

I just realized I put this in the competition section. I thought I was in the other crafts section!

Can a moderator move it, please? :)
**Signature Under Construction**
(will update soon with current WIPs and other info :dance: )
mags

Post by mags »

I have recently got a Pfaff Ambition 1.5. Haven't done a lot yet - just zigzagging edges, playing with some of the stitches and have made an apron. Seems very nice so far. I want to try some patchwork and quilting.
mags

WIPs:
Heritage Tower Bridge (yes still :roll: )
various bits and bobs
perftangel

Post by perftangel »

My mom (who does LOTS of sewing) has a Pfaff from the 80s(?) that she loves. I have a singer from the 60s that works pretty well too (it was free). I think if you can find an older workhorse and then get it serviced by a sewing shop, it'll last you long and it'll be fancier than what you could buy new.

Just my 2 cents and I don't know a lot about it, but that's what I've gather from my mom over the years. :)
NeedleAndFork

Post by NeedleAndFork »