New November Bingo: INSECTS! 11th numbers posted

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde

Ketta

New November Bingo: INSECTS! 11th numbers posted

Post by Ketta »

The list will be posted by Thursday evening. I wanted to get this post started because I said I'd post by Tuesday :oops:

I'm currently in my last year of a Bachelor's in zoology, and some of you know I'm very much into studying animals. My first love are the birds, but with some different events that began occurring this last spring, I've come to realize that a close second love are the insects. Many courses are required for zoology majors, generally to round out knowledge of all animals even though we may be firmly set on a group we intend to focus on. There are several good reasons for that, and I'm a good example of one of them: it's likely you may discover you have an interest and affinity for other fields.

Last spring, I took a required course in 'invertebrates'; bugs, crustaceans, worms, you name it: anything many consider 'icky' and without bones. When the course was focusing on insects, we had a presentation by the curator for the universities insect collection. The collection is huge (the biggest in the Pacific Northwest with over 3 million specimens), and at the end of his presentation he mentioned they were hiring a few people for databasing (entering collection data into a national database). I *really* needed a job for the summer, so I applied.

Ever since, I've learned more and more about insects, and I'm taking more courses that focus on insects. I've even got a fairly well fleshed-out idea for grad school study.

So, I decided it would be cool (and hopefully fun) to do a bingo on the different orders of insects. I'll post images and say a little bit about each one, and highlight something interesting. We're going from monsters to bugs, sort of easing out of the 'scary and icky' phase October always brings!