Selling patterns online

Tips, Tricks & Techniques - anything to help fellow cross stitchers.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

lizzielou

Selling patterns online

Post by lizzielou »

Hi all!

I have some questions about selling cross stitch patterns online. I recently moved overseas and quit my day job, so have an abundance of time on my hands, and I was thinking about starting up an Etsy shop. Unfortunately the postal service here is abysmal so I cannot sell actual items that require shipping, but I was thinking about designing and developing cross stitch patterns in PDF format, that I can sell electronically.

I'm an experienced cross stitcher, with less design experience but I'm a keen and willing student!

I've been looking at software to design patterns, but I'm unsure which programme will allow me to customise the pattern (with logo etc) allow me to add finished product photographs, instructions and then save in PDF format for sale. I've only been able to find reviews about these programmes for casual/hobby use.

Can someone here give me advice before I spend money on a programme that may not be what I want?

Thanks in advance. Lizzie
richardandtracy

Re: Selling patterns online

Post by richardandtracy »

What you might be able to use is something that creates a front page (eg MS Word), and save it as a PDF file. Then have a standard instruction file in PDF format.

Most chart creation software allows you to print the chart. This can be done to a PDF printer, like PDFCreator, to create a chart file. PDFCreator is free. Chart creation software can be free too - see my signature for one possible bit of software, there are a number of others.

Then you can stitch the multiple files together using another free program such as PDFSAM (PDF Split and Merge).