French Knots

Tips, Tricks & Techniques - anything to help fellow cross stitchers.

Moderators: rcperryls, Rose, karen4bells, Serinde, Alex

welsh wendy

French Knots

Post by welsh wendy »

Hi :)

I have quite a lot of patterns that require French Knots even though I have been stitching for many years I still cant do them :roll:

I read in my "501 ways to be a better xstitcher" book that there are alternatives called Colonial Knots which are easier to stitch.

Anyone know how to do these. :?: Thanks :)
StitchingAgain

Post by StitchingAgain »

I'm afraid I've never heard of the Colonial Knots, but I know some people use beads instead of french knots. Hopefully someone else can be of more help.
tina

Post by tina »

i'v never done french knots, but have some in my next cross stitch, all tips greatfully recieved
catkin

Post by catkin »

Thats what I do if at all possible although sometimes beads do not work and french knots are best. I don't do them well either but I try my best.

Joan
Becca

Post by Becca »

I had great trouble to start with when doing french knots, but one day i suddenly figured it out and it works fine now.
fairie56

Post by fairie56 »

I taught myself to do the french knot. It's not hard, just keep a certain "tension" on the floss, and it shouldn't stay loose or too tight. I've noticed that if I hold the needle close to fabric, after I've wound the floss around it, holding the floss snug, then stitck the needle through the fabric, all the time hold the floss snug, the knot should come out fine. I wish I could show you in person, but I'm afraid that would be difficult!
(one of these days when I get the software installed for my digital camera, I will...)
Hope this idea helps, and doesn't muddle you up! :wink:
inuyashagirl

Post by inuyashagirl »

hi everyone
I have to agree with most of you guys As i too use beads instead of french knots because i just can't get them right

Debbie
Rose

Post by Rose »